Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to Rainbow Anodize Stainless Steel

chrystylus is offline New User

Question How to Rainbow Anodize Stainless Steel

I was wondering if anyone knew the best way/equipment to create a rainbow effect on stainless steel. I am a total beginner and haven't even purchased an anodizer yet, since I wanted to make sure I ordered the right one. I would say more workload would be about 3-5 products a day of 1/2 inch gauged stainless steel. Any recommendations would be appreciated.

sswee is offline Metal Finishing Guru

Default Re: How to Rainbow Anodize Stainless Steel

chrystylus,
    You need to investigate the material treatment you are wanting more before you go and by an anodizingicon kit. anodizingicon is growing an oxide layer under controlled conditions to get a protective coating that can be dyed. It is done to aluminum. The only other material I am familiar with that can be anodized is titanium. I haven't seen or heard of anodizingicon stainless steel or an anodizer machine. Can you give an example of a part that has the finish you want or post a pic of one? It sounds like what your asking about may be a heat treatment finish.
    SS

Tim Wiltse is offline Amateur Metal Finisher

The only "rainbow" I have even seen on stainless steel is from getting hot....as in stainless steel car headers. You can't anodizeicon stainless steel.

LAter,
    Tim

alabama_lowlife is offline Amateur Metal Finisher

i've seen a couple knives and zippo's that have that "discoloration" kinda look....like oil on water. is that you mean? i've been wondering how they did those.

acidrain is offline Metal Finishing Guru

Those are titanium.
    I do things.

destroyer125 is offline Experienced Metal Finisher

Can also be done by nickel platingicon a part, then running a high voltage through it. Im not sure exactly how the process works though

mcaswell is offline Caswell Inc Founder