Thread: Polishing a rough cast aluminum valve cover... what tools and where to start???

krazykid is offline New User

Default Polishing a rough cast aluminum valve cover... what tools and where to start???

I am in the middle of a engine rebuild on my car, so while I have all the parts out, I want to polish all the aluminum I can see under the hood. While I am not a total noobie, these are the first cast aluminum pieces I have really dealt with. I did motorcycle frames and extruded or already "flat" surfaces.

I will have a picture of the cover and the other msc parts up tonight. Basically they are rough cast parts. On the valve cover there a lot of deep scratches, and alot of the surface looks like a clay desert dried up. With a lot of little cracks and what not. The casting is just very rough. To make it harder, there are a lot of tight spots and places a da will never touch, and I will just be there all day and burn through tons of sanding drums on my die grinder. I have to remove a lot of aluminum to flatten out the surface prior to buffing.

I just found out about this greaseless abrasive stuff from this website. That seems to sound like the ticket. In my head, 80 grit I know will take alot of the surface down, and the flexible wheel and bobs will get right into the tight spots... but I just donít know how much material these materials will actually take off.

Where do you think I should start?

baz
    baz is offline Metal Finishing Guru

Default Re: Polishing a rough cast aluminum valve cover... what tools and where to start???

Quote Originally Posted by krazykid View Post
    I am in the middle of a engine rebuild on my car, so while I have all the parts out, I want to polish all the aluminum I can see under the hood. While I am not a total noobie, these are the first cast aluminum pieces I have really dealt with. I did motorcycle frames and extruded or already "flat" surfaces.