Thread: media/pressure blasting set-up help?

xl97 is offline New User

Default media/pressure blasting set-up help?

I have a small Harbor Freight pressure/media blaster...

I believe it is this one:
    - Harbor Freight Tools - Quality Tools at the Lowest Prices
    40lbs.

I have no real experience with blasting before...

but took some 'black magic' medium..threw it in the blaster...

hooked it up to my compressor..and started to see how things works stripping some old paint/rust off some old parts..

I found that the medium seems to 'spit' from the nozzle..instead of a constant 'stream' of abbrasive... and at times..it just seems to FALL out of the nozzle end when open..and I point it down.

is this normal? what can I do to get a more useful pressure blaster? with consistent pressure/stream... and the media staying in the blaster until ready.. (not falling out of the deadman nozzle)..

am I using to small of a medium? (I didnt think it mattered)

is the blaster just a POS? (its used)

Thanks

CarWiz is offline Metal Finishing Guru

Default Re: media/pressure blasting set-up help?

http://www.harborfreight.com/manuals...4999/34202.PDF

Download the manual and read page 10. It describes how to adjust flow and pressure. All the pressure blasters require fine tuning. It's a balance between media flow and air flow and needs to be adjusted with each type of media. And dry air is paramount!

Pulsing indicates too much media flow but this can occur, and is normal, right after filling. You need run it for a few seconds to clear the manifold and hose then adjust the media and/or air flow until you have a steady blast. You should just barely see the media blowing from the tip. Sort of like smoke. You don't want a solid stream of media. Practice and you'll see the difference it makes between flow rates.

XK120DHC is offline Experienced Metal Finisher

Yeah, what CarWiz said. ;-}