Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to powder coating. Gun choice.

Elwarno is offline New User

Default New to powder coating. Gun choice.

I am new to powdercoating and based on my budget I am looking at the Caswell HV50 and the Red Line EZ50. I wanna hear from someone who has used both. The EZ50 is fairly new from what I understand and cannot find as many reviews on it. I will primarily be coating ATV and motorcycle parts as large as a frame. Your thoughts and opinions are greatly appreciated.

ty1854 Guest

Default Re: New to powder coating. Gun choice.

I have owned all of the hobby style guns at some point in the past. Here is how I rank them based on MY experiences (going from worst to best in descending order).

Harbor Freight
    EW Hobby
    Redline EZ
    EW Pro
    Caswell 50KV
    Hyper Smooth Pony w/ hopper

The EW Pro and the Redline EZ guns both broke in few months of use and would not charge the powder at all. Actually I went through about 3 EW Pro guns. I would suggest either the pony gunicon or the Caswell 50KV gun if you are set on a hobby gun. If you want to make the jump to a pro gun then take a look at the Hyper Smooth 02 with the multi coat tip.

And a jump it is,lol. I've checked out hyper too and I like the look of the pony with hopper. The Hyper 02 looks awesome but can't bring myself to spend that kinda jack on something I am new to. For what I am doing which will mainly be ATV and bike parts will a gunicon such as the pony be sufficient?

ty1854 Guest

Yes it should do fine. I have done 3 cold coats with it and if you get the hopper it really helps with the powder flow.