Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does voltage really matter for Aluminum Anodizing or is it all about the AMPs?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does voltage really matter for Aluminum Anodizing or is it all about the AMPs?

In the sticky thread on CC, Acidrain makes the statement "At any rate, you'll need to accurately measure and hold the current (amps) that are going to the part (just let the volts do whatever they need to in order to maintain the amps)."

I am new to Anodizing, have yet to successfully do my first part yet all the articles I've seen seem to mix and match voltage and amps as if they are interchangable, which they are not.

I'm building diving flashlights where the LED itself requires CC amperage of up to 9Amps in a handheld application, yet the voltage is under 4 volts.

I have yet to purchase a rectifier based on the Amperage requirements I don't need to as I can just use the same CC drivers I use for the LED.

I have no idea how "energetic" the acid/current reaction should be but I did a test at 3Amp and it looks like a glass of bubbly champagne so clearly there's a reaction... but is it the "right" reaction or am I looking for more of warm soda hitting ice?

Thanks,
    Codiak

Re: Does voltage really matter for Aluminum Anodizing or is it all about the AMPs?