Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 24v DC 7 Amp PSU question

Hi All,

I am new to anodising, very new in fact as I only tried for the first time yesterday...

I am using a constant voltage 24v DC 7 Amp supply and I can control the output current by using a 15 Amp motor speed controller and have had surprisingly good results, now I assume I am dropping the voltage as well as current when I turn the dial down however I only have one digital AVO and I am rather keen to keep an eye on the current having burnt off a wire from my rack to test piece yesterday.. (Oops!)

My question is what is my current density, my view is it is in the region of 25 Amps as it is a 24v DC PSU but I could be very wrong....

Can someone point me in the right direction please.

Many thanks

David
    /d

Re: 24v DC 7 Amp PSU question

Current density is a number that you choose... go for 6 amps per sq. ft., so;
    Measure your total surface area of the parts in sq. ft. (144 sq. in. = 1 sq. ft.).
    multiply by 6.
    Rack your parts and hook everything up.
    Turn the ps all the way down and then turn on.
    Slowly turn up to your calculated setting.
    You should have an amps meter, and a volts meter so that you can monitor both. You can pick up panel meters off ebay pretty cheap.
    You'll need to watch the amps and keep them steady at your setting... they will wander.
    Make notes of what the volts are doing at measured intervals. I use a dry erase board with start and end time, set amps, and intervals of volts and tank temperature. Intervals are beginning, 5 min., then every 15 min to end of run.
    I do things.

Comment

I managed to rig up a voltmeter as well as current (Both digital and should be accurate) I was anodising with a 12.5v/2.2 Amp supply and the results with black dye are superb. No doubt I will have more questions however with luck I will find them on the forum.

Many thanks for you assistance

David
      /d

Comment