Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help please I am going crazy!

Hey everybody,

I am new to the anodizing world. Over the last week we have been experimenting with a system we put together. I'll give you a quick rundown of the system;

we have 4, 3 gallon plastic tanks. The first has a mixture of 3 gallons of DI water to 1 gallon of battery acid. The acide tank is using a 10" x 1/2" lead plate with 2 12-14 gauge aluminum wires attached to it. the next tank is straight DI water. The next tank is Caswell die (green and yellow) then there is another DI tank and finally a tank of boiling DI water (This tank is metal)

We are using a 12v battery charger wired through a dimmer switch to power the anidizing process.

Having said that here is what I am fighting, I figured a part to be about 4 sq inches so I set the charger to 120 MA I let it anodize for about 90-95 minutes. I pulled the part out of the acid bath, rinsed it and placed it in the dye. The part sat in the dye tank (110-160 degrees) for about 20-25 minutes. It came out a very rich dark green. I then rinsed again and put in a pot of water heated to a rolling boil. After 15 minutes in the pot I removed the part to find it a pale green. All the dye had leached out. Can anybody here give me some tips on what I am doing wrong here

If I leave drops of water on an anodised and dyed part (before sealing) then I find that the dye leaches out leaving lighter stains where the droplets were. Obviously your problem is the dye leaching out before the pores manage to seal over.

I suppose an easy solution would be to get some commercial sealer. This is what I use and I've never had a problem with dye leaching out during the sealing process.