Announcement

Collapse

CASWELD Our new 'Welding' rods

Introducing our latest range of Welding and brazing rods, for the repair of Pot Metal, Aluminum, Stainless and much more.

Please see our web page for details.

http://www.caswellplating.com/restor...ding-rods.html
See more
See less

Anodizing Small Parts

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anodizing Small Parts

Hello -- newbie here looking for some advice on anodizing very small parts. I scanned the forum and couldn't find this topic in previous posts. I have a number of small parts (about the size of a pea) that I would like to anodize in batches of 1,000. Figure about 1,000 of these pieces would fit into a typical 12 oz. soda can. The pieces will be dyed after anodizing.

What is the best way to get a good result using LCD anodizing (I will be purchasing the Caswell LCD Anodizing Kit)? I was thinking of making a small titanium cage with a lid that will allow the pieces to be held firmly in place during the anodizing process but not sure if this is the way to go.

Any thoughts on this approach or alternative suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

A small titanium cage is the way to go for itty bitty parts. It's referred to as basket anodizing. I have a customer that does that all day long running 15,000+ parts in a single basket. You need to pack them tight because if they move around you will get little burn marks from arcing. Vibrate them down as you tighten the lid. The cage will add quite a bit of resistance to your anodizing circuit, so you should see a higher than normal voltage for a given current. Also you will have rejections; it unavoidable in basket anodizing.
    Process control doesn't give you good quality, it gives you consistent quality.
    Good quality comes from consistently doing the right things.

Process control systems for anodizers
    If a post helps you out spread the love and LIKE the post

Comment