Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Retaining shine/polish post anodize (6061)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Retaining shine/polish post anodize (6061)

I've been anodizing for about 6 yrs now and have a pretty good handle on the process. However one thing I've never been quite satisfied with has been the loss of shine of the parts. I'd like to achieve a very shiny finish, but end up with something closer to satin.

Interestingly, at one point I received a batch of parts from a supplier, and during anodizing, they did not turn the typical golden champagne color. As a matter of fact, they did not change color at all, instead retaining their silvery mirror finish post anodize. The process wasn't to blame as I would anodize these parts with other material from a different batch, and those parts would turn the typical champagne color. Additionally, the parts reacted differently to stripping, where my typical parts will smut up and become quite dull during stripping, these showed no sign of smut and even retained most of there polish post strip.

I had one of the parts sent out for material analysis, and all component percentages came right in line with 6061, as shown below:

Silicon------------ 0.67
    Iron---------------- 0.4
    Copper----------- 0.31
    Manganese------ 0.08
    Magnesium------ 1.0
    Chromium------- 0.09
    Nickel------------- 0.02
    Zinc---------------- 0.05
    Titanium---------- 0.03
    Lead--------------- 0.01
    Tin----------------- <0.01
    Beryllium--------- <0.01
    Vanadium-------- 0.01
    Zirconium-------- <0.01
    Aluminum-------- Rem.

Here's a pic showing the difference between a typical part, and the "magical" batch. I've since long run out of that batch and have never received 6061 that exhibited this trait since.

Anyway - does anyone have any tricks to retaining polish?