Smut Bath not etching

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smut Bath not etching

Hi everyone, im new to this and anodized my first part the other day...came out alright . A bit spotty but im sure that was my setup. I attepted my second part yesterday and i dont think it etched. The Smut bath was reacting well but the surface color of the aluminum was not changing. The ends of the part were welded on and they did change but the finned extrusion did not except slighty on the ends where it looks like there was heat from welding.

I must have sat in the etch a couple hours aa i checked it about every 15 min. Ano bath also didnt seem to work. CC power supply limits to 7 amps and was hovering around 5 volts. The first part was also at 7 amps and voltage started at 25 moved down to 9 and back up to 20 in about 90 min.

I even set up a battery charger in parallel...15v at unknown amps.

Could I have an extruded alloy that just wont anodize?

Thanka

Originally posted by Scott Beatty View Post
    The Smut bath...
    There is no such bath. Your etch tank will create smut on the part which you remove in a deox bath.

I must have sat in the etch a couple hours...
    Assuming you are using a caustic etch and it was working properly, your part would have been noticeably smaller if not completely dissolved after a couple of hours so I'm assuming this is your problem.

Could I have an extruded alloy that just wont anodize?
    It's not likely. In fact if it's an aluminum alloy then no, it will anodize if processed correctly. It's more likely that your part was either dirty, not etched properly or something else in your process has gone awry.