Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not Sure What Happend?

Good Afternoon,
    so let me start I'm new to the Process of Anodizing. So i set up my Anodizing System on Friday 13 and ran a test on Saturday afternoon.
    1. my anodizing bath is a 50/50 mix sulfuric acid to distilled water i have two 8 x 12 anodes on each side.
    2. I have bought the sealant and the de greaser from Caswell

So this how i ran the tests
    i didn't heat the Anodizing Bath my first test i had the parts in the bath for 50min @ 4amps and in the dye for 10min and sealant for 15min See Pictures named First Test they tow of them didn't take dye and two didn't take a lot of dye the two that took dye i sandblasted the other two i just polished. i thought they didn't stay in the dye long enough.

second test
    i did the second test this morning and didn't go well so i sandblasted all the parts with aluminum oxide. in the bath 1hr 20min in the dye for 30min and sealant for 30min some of the parts had a dark color and the others look bright aluminum. see the pictures named second test, when i put them in the dye and pulled them out after the 30min the darker ones didn't take any dye and the other ones took dye great.

we are trying to get a Type III hard coat and read the cooler the Bath the better just extra info.

not sure what i did wrong any help would be great
    Thanks
    Chris
    Last edited by SINNGENN; 11-20-2020, 11:52 AM.

What values are you using ? Amps per sq inch ? mil thickness ? What prep are you using ?
    --
    Jason Vanderbroek
    315 946 1213 x116
    www.caswellplating.com

Comment

Good Morning Jason,
      i'm using .3/sq in

I'm not sure on that one