Anodize Aluminum passes conductivity test but will not take black dye

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anodize Aluminum passes conductivity test but will not take black dye

Hello, I am new to anodizing and have a question. I anodized a small 6061 aluminum part. The part passes the conductivity test but when I dyed it (Caswell Black) it only turned grey. I left the part in the dye for about an hour. I am thinking that I didn't have hot enough. I tried re dye the part making sure that the dye temp is 150 degrees. Nothing changed. My question is, did I "hardcoat" anodize the part and that is why it wouldn't take the dye. Or did I seal the pores with the "cold" dye bath?

Can you walk me through the process you used, including amperages and surface areas ?
    --
    Jason Vanderbroek
    315 946 1213 x116
    www.caswellplating.com

Comment

I used the 720 calculation to get my amperage and time. My part is about 10 sq inches. I used a CC power supply set at .4 amps for 70 minutes. Before I started I dipped my part in Easyoff for about 15 minutes. I then washed off the Easyoff with distilled water and let it dry. After the anodizing process, I am washed the part in warm (70 degree) water. After drying, I placed it in the dye. I did not have a temp gauge but the solution was steaming slightly. I left the part in the dye for 45 minutes. The part came out this grey color. I thought that I didn't anodize it correctly so I tested the part with my multimeter. There was zero conductivity. I thought maybe my dye was not hot enough so I heated it up to 150 degrees and tried it again. The part did not get any darker.

Comment

Don’t let your parts dry out between steps. Go straight from the anodizing tank into the rinse, then directly into the dye.
        Last edited by KevinB; 02-09-2021, 02:11 PM.
        Process control doesn't give you good quality, it gives you consistent quality.
        Good quality comes from consistently doing the right things.