Trouble Getting Al (Type III) Anodizing to work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trouble Getting Al (Type III) Anodizing to work

Hello, I posted this in the "Hard Anodizing" pinned post but haven't gotten a response so figured I'd just make a new post. I'm a materials engineer familiar with electrochemical processes and surface etching but new to anodizing.

I'm doing some R&D and trying to see if I can Type III anodize small aluminum parts in preparation to create some non-conductive gaskets and I keep getting partial success or complete failure. I'm hoping someone can clarify some things for me and point out my mistakes.

My test samples are 1.25inx1.25inx0.62in cut from Aluminum sheet.

I'm performing this in a fume hood and using either homemade or generic solutions. I am -currently- using SP degreaser, HCl 34% for Desmut (Nitric wasn't doing anything), and a 1:2 H2SO4:H2O bath which is in a polymer container and placed in a larger polymer container filled with water and frozen overnight to make sure the bath temp is 32F. Part is suspended using a titanium wire and rinsed in distilled water between each step and I soak in acetone to clean before each attempt. The present current is 0.1A for 120min. The process is conducted over a magnetic stirring plate for agitation.

I started out following the instructions for standard Type III Anodizing Al from the Caswell Plating Manual Version X (3:1 Acid:water bath, Nitric DeOx/Desmut, 0.025A/sq in for 120 min using the 720 rule) and got partially passivated results, the current was at 0.028A and voltage would rise to about 35V. Then saw the/a founder of Caswell (Mike) respond to a post here: https://forum.caswellplating.com/for...nodizing-setup saying that you had to dilute the acid and increase Amps. So I've been doing 1:2 acid:water bath at higher amps and tried that using HCl as the DeOx/desmut, to less success. With 0.1A the voltage doesn't go above 3.24V.