X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• gold electroplating on sliver

Hello people!
    I am a super amateur I might be doing everything wrong so let me know

I want to plate a musical instrument mouthpiece (trombone trumpet or horn)
    A trombone mouthpiece is about 7 in square, a trumpet and horn about 4 in square
    To gold plate I am using a kind of adaptor that I found working for that with stainless electrode
    4 amps
    5 volts
    Temperature is about 30 sec in the microwave for 4 oz of liquid gold solution
    Duration of plating about 1 minute
    before electroplating I clean the silver with a silver polish, then dish soap, then boiling water

It works but the plating stay for about 1 month,
    as the mouthpiece is placed on the lips for about 5hr a day everyday
    I cannot use any hard chemical as the mouthpiece have a direct contact with the skin

is there something I can do so that my plating will last longer?
    maybe some kind of electro cleaning is necessary?
    longer plating time?
    temperature?

I do it because I have a silver allergy and for some of my friends in the same situation and this gold plating remove all the problem i suffer from the silver.
    If somebody could suggest me ideas I am open to suggestions!

Julie
    Last edited by Julie Harnois; 09-19-2013, 11:47 PM.

Re: gold electroplating on sliver

I have never plated gold directly over silver (I always do a nickel strike coat first); however, assuming you are using Caswell’s gold plating solution try the following:

1. Cleaning:
    (A) Be certain that the silver polish you are using does not contain any silicone in it’s formulation because it will be all but impossible to get the silicone out of the pores of the metal and the plating will not adhere to the base metal. I found out the hard way, not a good thing.