Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

CopyCad & Zinc failure - electrolyte problems?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CopyCad & Zinc failure - electrolyte problems?

Hello everyone:

I'm new to this plating game, and while I've been having success with other Caswell kits (anodizing and powder coating), this one has me completely frustrated. I'm already a month behind in my attempts to zinc plate, and need to get on with my project. This post is going to be long, and somewhat complicated. I've tried to organize it to make sense, but that's not one of my strong points. I hope you can bear with me.

I got Caswells smallest CopyCad & Zinc kit. Everything is set up exactly to Caswells instruction from the Plating Manual. Part prep and cleaning is not an issue. I've tried more than a dozen tests, and have eliminated that as a cause.

Problem: Plating is substandard due to too little voltage & too much current.

Specifics:

1) using Caswell kit supplied 1.7v, 300mA power brick.
    2) test piece is 2" x 3" piece of 18ga. mild steel sheet (12 sq.-in. total, supposedly exact dimensions for Caswell power brick).
    3) measured voltage is 0.4v, measured current is 800+ mA. (specs call for 1.5v, 300mA @ 25mA/in.)
    4) the part plates, but very little evidence of gas "fizzing", and plate is dark, uneven, and discolored w/streaks & patches.

I reported this to Caswell via PRS, and they suspected bad electrolyte, so the sent me a new bottle. That's GREAT customer support, thanks Caswell!

However, even with the new electrolyte, I get nearly the same results: measured voltage is 0.5v, measured current is 740 mA.