Copy ChromeNot Working

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Copy ChromeNot Working

I'm having difficulty with copy chrome. It worked well at first but doesn't now. I get a dull grayish finish that won't polish. Underneath is a very thin bright coat that cuts through to the substrate when I polish]. I came to the conclusion that I needed to replace the brighteners but probably I'm wrong and need to look at other factors.

I did a test piece using a 5 inch, 1/2 inch copper pipe. The bath temp was 74, the current was 0.25 amps and 5 volts. I've attached a picture that shows the pipe partly buffed. Perhaps someone can advise me as to what to try next.
    [ATTACH=CONFIG]3499[/ATTACH
    Attached Files

Re: Copy ChromeNot Working

Hi, I'm really new at flash copper and copy chrome but I have been using it for five days straight sun up to sun down. I have never seen it look like that. The part looks burnt. Have you done this same run before and have no problems. Have you checked the ph level what does the part look like before you chrome.

Comment

The part shown in the picture was a clean piece of copper pipe. The black part is from buffing some of it to show my result. I've ordered a ph meter but it will be a week or two before it gets here since I think it's coming from China. I've done about 35 pieces so far. The first 30 worked just fine. I've done copy chrome over flash copper over zincated aluminum and pot metal and over plain steel.

Comment

I'm not sure if this means much but when I plate with the copy chrome I set my amps and the volts are usually around 2 or 2 1/2. Are sticking to the 2x anode 1x cathode. Also the caswell suggested I remove the bandage from the anodes. Cause I was having a very slightly dull affect on some edges of some of my pieces. I havnt had a chance to try that yet.

Comment

Are you new with caswells product and plating in general.

Comment