Announcement

Collapse

CASWELD Our new 'Welding' rods

Introducing our latest range of Welding and brazing rods, for the repair of Pot Metal, Aluminum, Stainless and much more.

Please see our web page for details.

http://www.caswellplating.com/restor...ding-rods.html

These products replace the range of Muggyweld and Technoweld products we used to sell.
See more
See less

Plating Small Pot Metal Parts

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plating Small Pot Metal Parts

I am a hobbyist restoring 70-year-old small chrome telephone parts. The smallest is 1” x ½” x ¼” and the largest is 1” x 4” x ¼”. While stripping chrome off two of the smallest parts with Muriatic Acid, I discovered the parts were pot metal. One had a good coat of nickel and mostly survived but the other now looks like lava rock. Since the chrome is off these parts, I decided to use them as practice pieces to learn to plate pot metal. My eventual plan is to plate good pieces with copper then nickel but no chrome.

After reading various threads on this forum, I used B-929 to remove the old nickel then sanded off the copper layer to bare pot metal. I then cleaned them in a heated ultrasonic cleaner with a mild alkaline cleaner then anodic electro cleaned them in 8-grams/liter sodium carbonate at 3.0 vdc for 5 minutes. After rinsing in distilled water, I plated them in alkaline copper starting at 700 mA for 15 seconds then 50 mA for 45 minutes. I then sanded with 1000 grit sandpaper, rinsed in distilled water and plated in alkaline copper for 45 minutes at 50 mA followed by sanding. The results were full coverage with excellent adhesion (tape test showed no delamination).

I am now going back to bare pot metal and will practice filling pits. I tried to sandblast the parts but blew them away. Would an “air eraser” (looks like a pen or air brush) using 220 grit aluminum oxide work just as well for removing chrome and plating prep on small parts?