Polishing my handgun barrel to mirror finish: help & suggestions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Polishing my handgun barrel to mirror finish: help & suggestions

Hello all! Looking for some guidance on what products to finish my gun barrel with.

With a rotary tool, Heavy Metal liquid polish (green/medium), and felt wheels I was able to get to this point, after over 6 hours on just this section:

On this one section I've been able to get a distorted/hazy mirror finish (total 6 hours), the rest I left at a shiny satin nickel -ish finish (about 4 hours).
    Maybe it's just the polish I'm using but I'm sure it's the rotary tool, if not both.

What wheels and tool options do I have available to me? The actual barrel itself could take 6 inch wheels I think but what can I use for the nooks and crannies? Will the drill attachments allow me to get a mirror finish? Any specific tips or pointers?

I'm new to buffing/polishing but it's something I'd like to end up doing to a number of items around the house in the future.

Thanks for your help, greatly appreciated!

Re: Polishing my handgun barrel to mirror finish: help & suggestions

First off, most gun parts are made out of pretty hard steel, which is harder to polish.

I'm not sure what I'm looking at in your photograph; it's a little confusing. What's that bright white patch in the middle?

To give you much advice we will need more info as to the present finish: Is it already dead smooth and blued, or is it a rough "military" finish? Some more photos of the rest of the gun would help a lot.

I can say that if you have worked that long on it then you are not using an aggressive enough abrasive. In 10 hours even a Dremel tool would have accomplished a lot with the proper abrasive.

Richard

Comment

Sorry, the bright white patch is photo editing. I didn't know what the numbers were so I erased them.