How to load my wheels properly

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to load my wheels properly

I am just starting out with learning how to polish. I am curious of the proper way to load my wheels.

1. Do I need to warm up the compounds?
    2. Do I wet the wheels first? if so do I let the compound dry after applying it?
    3. Do apply alot of pressure or very little?

I am really unsure of the "Proper" way to load.

You dont need to warm up the compounds, the friction of the wheel against it should heat it enough to melt it. The proper way to apply a compound is to rake the wheel so you get most of the luffy stuff off of it. Than hold the compound against it with moderate pressure and turn the motor off so it slows down to a stop against the compound. This should work for you. Experience will give you better ways to do the little things. I also find with using the compounds, use very little black compound at a time, and apply it more often, and used more brown and white compouind and apply it less often, if that makes sense to you. The black is nothing unusual. When you notice the black becoming crusty and glistening like metal would rake the wheel out to break this up. Good luck!

Comment

Thanks a bunch. The only thing I didn't mention was that I am using a 6" bench grinder that runs at 3, 450 Rpm.

Comment