protecting polished aluminum?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• protecting polished aluminum?

Newbie here! I've read the free manual and many posts in this forum. Before I begin getting into the whole process of polishing/buffing, which I'm eager to start, I was wondering what is the best method for protecting the finished piece. Specifically car underhood/engine items.

I've read mixed things about diy clearcoating with a spray can (dulled finish, yellowing over time...)

I know there is a wax that Caswell sells, but is that meant for hi-temp applications? Would it last under those conditions, or just melt off?

I'd like to find something I can do myself, as opposed to paying for clear powder coating, if possible...

Thanks, and it's great this forum exisits!

zoop ... caswell sells it ..

Comment

Thanks! I've read about Zoop and it sounds great. Little pricey, though...

Any other methods, or tried and true hi-temp clear coats, that might be a cheaper yet effective alternative? The protective wax is no good for the engine compartment I would imagine...

Comment

you can use it under the hood ... i use carnuba wax .. and for clear coating ... it dulls the shine .. you don't want to do that ... i just sent tomg552001 a set of polished fuel rails to clear coat for a challenge.. take a look at them i keep you posted ... then you can see the clear coated look

Comment

Thanks! I'd like to check out a pic of your rails when they're done.