Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

ok, what am i doing wrong?please help a man out?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ok, what am i doing wrong?please help a man out?

This is my first try at polishing... to my surprize,It looks really good for my first time,but I am sure I am doing something wrong because I am getting a cloudiness on the flat area of my aluminum disk cover. These are my steps...(I'm using a 3/4 hp 3450 rpm craftsman)
    I start sanding by hand with a 320-1000 wet, then I use the Black with a 8" sisal. I touch the wheel every 3-4 minutes or so with more black.(works great) then I clean my piece with hot water and soap. I use a 8" spiral sewn cotton with the brown in the same manner as i use the black. I then move on to the white with the 8" spiral sewn cotton. (I also tried a treated cotton) i get a good shine in some areas but hazy or cloudy in most other areas. I am inclined to think i need to use the loose cotton wheel for the white. but I'm not sure. also,what amount of pressure to the wheel should I give with the piece. Can i clean off a wheel and use a different compound on it? how often should i rake? also should i be seeing some slight build up when i use the white? i can send pics if your inclined to help me out. please, any tips would be great! I just want to do it right.

Sounds like you need a little tweaking to your process.

The 8" wheel on a 3450 RPM buffer generates a bit too much surface speed, but you should be ok. For aluminum, you want right around 5,000 surface feet per minute. A 6" wheel at that RPM nets you right around 5,400 SFPM which is close enough.

Now, what I'm about to say is *MY* way of doing things and not the end-all, be-all method. It works for me and works well.