Help polishing alum. motorcycle wheels

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help polishing alum. motorcycle wheels

This is my first polishing project on my 2004 honda sabre im doing my wheels right now but im not quite getting the results i want (chrome like) they look shiny at a distance but if you get real close its hazy looking i wet sanded with 400 then i used a 3m gray rotolock then 600 then used a 4" sisal and black bar on my drill @ 2800 rpm and on to spiral w/black then spiral w/brown then loose w/white my gut feeling is the drill speed but i want to here from the pro's i do have a 3/4hp buffer and 10" wheels but the wheel is heavy and i don't know if it will get in the wheel's tight spaces what would you use?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00390s.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	34.4 KB
ID:	131042

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00391s.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	34.2 KB
ID:	131043

Re: Help polishing alum. motorcycle wheels

Well, I'm no expert as I'm just starting too, but if you sanded it smooth to your preference then I guess you're not getting enough cut from your first step with the black bar. If you look at my 1st semi polished pics post you'll see that I wasn't cutting enough and definitely wasn't using enough black bar. I then found that heat has a lot to do with it. I think your drill may be just fast enough. When you give it a little pressure if it starts to slow down then back off and hit it again. I was doing that with my bench grinder. I would hit it with the black bar and sisal wheel until you get close to that kinda shine you want and then clean it off, change the wheel and do the color thing with the brown. I just bet that does it. I know there's another step like the rouge, but I haven't gotten there yet. I can't wait to do my aluminum rims. I guess you use the felt bobs for the tighter areas. If I'm ignorant an some of this will you veterans please chime in and educate kxed and I. lol

Comment