No announcement yet.

Need help polishing my wheels: PLEASE!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help polishing my wheels: PLEASE!

I am a total newbie to polishing, but I've done a lot of research and need help before I take the final plunge purchasing a few products.

I want to fully polish my entire rims. I bought these rims used and paid $300 for a shop to paint strip the wheels and polish the outer lips. They wanted another $600 to polish the whole thing, so now I want to attempt this myself. I have ZERO tools, so now is a good excuse for me to go buy some.

Is there anything else I need besides Caswell's Aluminum and Copper Alloy Kit? Can you guys recommend a good drill I can attach this stuff to?

http://www.caswellplating.com/buffs/alpolkit.htm
    Attached Files

Re: Need help polishing my wheels: PLEASE!

Holy ****, I'm not charging enough...

Anyhow, if that's sandcast-like surface, afraid you're gonna have to do some sanding - start with 220, then drop to 120 if that's too slow, then back to 220/320, maybe 400 or 600. Then start in with your kit.

If that's a smooth but coated surface, you just need to strip it and then use the kit.

When I started out I tried using a cheap electric drill but almost burnt it up immediately. So, get a heavy-duty commercial drill or right-angle sander/polisher. Or, an air-powered drill if you have a compressor.

The real experts will be along shortly to help you further I'm sure...

Comment

Originally posted by mpierich
      Holy ****, I'm not charging enough...
      Anyhow, if that's sandcast-like surface, afraid you're gonna have to do some sanding - start with 220, then drop to 120 if that's too slow, then back to 220/320, maybe 400 or 600. Then start in with your kit.
      If that's a smooth but coated surface, you just need to strip it and then use the kit.