Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help with polishing Royal Enfield Bullet

hello to all,
    as a total newbie (no tools,not even sandpaper to my name) i am interested in polishing my 500 bullet which is not top quality metal.
    i have a fare idea on what to do with endless hours reading the forum but can any one help with:
    sand paper-what grade to use to what stage (i.e. 600-2000 etc) and wet what grade,(from-to)
    i want to start to get my 1st part to a decent level as it needs sanding.in time i will buy sisal wheels,compounds etc.
    i have a exhaust that is reasonably shiny but has the odd rust spots with minor scratches,what do you suggest as i am doing it by hand.
    i will be gratefull for any help.
    take care
    grommit

Re: help with polishing Royal Enfield Bullet

Hi grommit,

What supplies and techniques you'll need will depend on the type of metal, shape and size of the particular part, and condition of the part.

I suggest you decide what part(s) you're going to start with - questions about specific parts will get you better answers. Right now you're asking how to get to someone's house without telling us where you are now.

For example, if the exhaust is plated steel, the best you can do is to de-rust it and try to buff it to make it shiny. Any bad scratches or pits probably would mean it needs to be replated to be perfect.

So again, be specific and the helpful people on here will likely be able to help you out.

BTW, say hi to Wallace for me...

Comment

hi mpierich,
      point on board m8 about the parts,just as i posted it i thought s#@t it would help if you guys knew what metal type i aim to polish...so here is a pic of my ride befor..it will be some time befor i can post a after pic.
      the metal is Alum and steel with the usual chrome added parts,but as alot of you guys may know with Enfields the metal is not of the highest standard.