Handheld polisher? kind of long.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Handheld polisher? kind of long.

Ok I'm new to this metal polishing stuff, so please forgive my ignorance.

I've been trying to polish up the wheels on my Jeep, they are forged aluminum wheels made by Weld racing. I'm having fairly good success so far but it is very slow going with my existing tools. I've used the search here and read through many threads. I've found lots of info on technique but little on handheld equipment. I want to do this with a handheld unit of some type.

What I have tried so far:

1. a drill with a 4" buff, painfully slow, I have a hard time even getting the wheel to a accept compound.

2. a cheap air powered die grinder, works much better but not really powerfull enough, it slows down or stalls easily.

3. dremel tool, works great with the 1" buff for tight areas but not practicle for entire wheel.

Ok now for the question. What should I buy to make this job go a little faster.

Things I have considered. (and what I see as possible problems for each).

1. buy a better quality die grinder that will give me more power. (not absolutly sure I could get better power with a good one).

2. buy the flexible shaft grinder that caswell has for sale here.
    http://www.caswellplating.com/buffs/flexible_shaft.htm
    (I think this would be great for the tight places but I'm not sure if it has the power to turn a larger buffing wheel for the big areas).

3. buy an automotive polisher or electric grinder that i would have to adapt somehow to use a buffing wheel. (not sure if I can get one in the correct RPM range, it seems polishers are too slow and grinders too fast).

4. get a flex shaft to use with my bench grinder (expensive).

Hope someone can point me in the right direction.
    Thanks.

I use a drill that turns 2850rpm and a bench grinder at 3500rpm, both with 6" and 8" buffs. I'm working on my motorcycle wheels right now and get good results from both.