Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting a shiny surface after etching

Hi Folks,
    I’m an artist who’s working on manufacturing a piece I’ve developed that uses fine lines etched into metal to reflect light in specific directions. Here’s a demonstration: https://youtu.be/jIL7kxZhObU

The issue I’m running into is that I’ve produced my original prototypes on a CNC, where it takes 10-30 hours, making it prohibitively expensive. I commissioned a photochemical machining shop to make me some samples using chemical etching (ferric trichloride), which sort of works, but they’re around 5 to 10 times less reflective than the CNC etched samples. I think this is because of the microscopic texture of the metal post etching - matte rather than shiny. I’ve tried stainless steel and brass, and tried gold plating as well. The etch lines are 0.1mm wide and around 0.7mm deep.

My questions are:
    1. I have some flexibility on what metal I use. Is there some combination of metals and etching process that produces a shiny surface?
    2. Is there some form of post processing that can make the surface shiny? Say electroplating. Obviously the challenge here is not destroying the etched texture.
    3. If not, is there some other manufacturing method that might work?

Appreciated.

*That should be 0.07mm deep.

Comment

Hello Rahms. I saw your video. It's beautiful, did you make this?

The reflectiveness of metals mostly comes from a smooth surface on a microscopic level. when you etch the metal, you change the microstructure of the surface, because the grain boundaries of the metal is usually more corroded than other regions. so your answers:

1) probably no. however pure metals are better for your application than alloys. because in pure metals there are no different phases with different corrosion resistance and the etched surface is going to be more even.