When to add clear coat-beginner help?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When to add clear coat-beginner help?

I am a complete beginner with coating and have yet to find many resources to aid me, I just haven't looked to hard yet. Are you supposed to cure the color coat, cool & then add the clear? Or is it ok to add the clear on top of the color and then cure? I have yet to even try 1 piece so my 1st go will be interesting! thanks for any help.

nutty
    SouthWest Powderworx
    Tyler Nutter
    www.swpowder.com
    myspace/swpowder
    [email protected]
    sigpic

Hey Nuttyman! This forum is a great place to cut your teeth in powdercoating. It's pretty basic:

1). practice on a couple pieces of scrap metal first

2). sand blast your part(s)

3). hang from a wire and "dust" with powder (getting the right amount of powder on the part takes a little practice)

4). carefully move the part and hang in pre-heated oven to cure. Most Caswell powder cures at 400 degrees for 14-15 minutes. Other powders may vary.

5). open the oven door part way, and allow the part to cool slowly, maybe 10-15 minutes.

Put one color on at a time. Put a color on the part first, cure, then cool, apply the clear, and cure again. The first coat of color will not re-melt. If you missed a spot when coating the first color, just re-coat and cure again. Mixing powder is not like mixing paint (thanks Dale! ) you'll end up with speckles of both colors, but they won't melt together into a new color.

It's pretty easy, and has thousands of practical uses. The cost is so low, it's hard to find a reason *not* to powdercoat. You can figure ~ $90 for your powder gun, ~ $130 for a sand blast cabinet (Harbor Freight), a cast-off electric kitchen oven (free or dirt cheap), and a couple pounds of powder ~ $25. Don't use your wife's oven to cure powder, or your pizza will never taste the same again. Ask questions here. Good luck!

Hemi-T

Comment