Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noobie, Sandblasting Set-Up Question

Hello,

I have a few questions about sandblasting before I make any purchases. I am new to the Sandblasting/Powdercoating scene and I have done my share of
    research but I just want opinions about what to buy.

I am looking to Powdercoat automotive parts. Like for example rims, intake manifolds, valve cover etc....

I know about all the prep and the sandblasting necessary for a good powdercoat job to be successful.

Heres my question:

Will This Set-Up Work for what I want to do?

10 Gallon Tank Hot Dog Pneumatic Portable Air Compressor 3 5HP Motor 125 PSI | eBay

3.5 peak horsepower .
    Durable cast iron cylinder.
    Oil-lubricated motor for long life.
    Delivers 7.2 CFM @ 40 PSI, 3.5 CFM at 90 PSI.
    125 PSI maximum pressure

with an Ebay Sandblaster

Portable Handheld Air Sandblaster Sand Blaster Kit Rust Paint Remover w 4 Nozzle | eBay

Portable sandblaster kit
    Comes with (4) nozzles
    Handles glass beads, sand, aluminum oxide or other abrasive materials
    Minimum air compressor requirement: 3HP & 90 PSI
    30LB capacity seamless polyethylene hopper
    5 feet rubber hose
    Heavy duty sandblaster gun with hardened steel nozzle

Let me know what you think!!!!

Thanks

Re: Noobie, Sandblasting Set-Up Question

Unfortunately you will need a lot more air than that little compressor can deliver. As far as the blaster itself it is hard to say how well it will work. I have the Harbor Freight portable abrasive blaster and have used it a few times on items that I don't want to blast in my cabinet and it works pretty good. Just remember that blasting with a portable blaster you won't be able to re-use your media and it gets everywhere unless you make a room to do your blasting in.

The small blasting setups won't take off existing powder coating so keep that in mind if you are doing parts that have been coated from the factory.