powder coating a frame?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• powder coating a frame?

i am new to this powder coating like a few others here. i am going to be powder coating an aluminum dirtbike frame and curing it with a lamp and was wonder if anyone could give me some tips, like what is the best way and chemical to clean the frame with? what type of powder to use ie. epoxy, polyuerathane ect., what is best for resistence to chiping and wearing? he whats to go with a gun metal silver type color. maybe dale has some tips for me, i read all the posts on this board (that are recent)and you sound like you could help me out ....any help would be great... thanks in advance... randy

Well I'm not Dale...will I do?

How many watts is your lamp? Although it can be done with a lamp I would suggest for the sake of a desirable outcome I would cure it in an oven. Of course if you're using a high wattage lamp and good reflectors you might pull it off. I'm assuming you're coating a CR or CRF frame. You'll probably want to have it glass beaded to make sure the powder will adhere the way you want it to. Here's how I would do it. Strip the bike down and degrease it. After that, clean it with simple green or castrol super clean and pressure wash it. DON"T do it in the sun as these cleaners WILL leave a residue on the frame and they will leach into pits in the material. Glass bead the entire frame...Don't forget to mask off the goose neck. Clean it down with MEK in a well ventilated area. Heat it up for out gassing purposes, shoot it and cure. If I were going to cure using a lamp I would use at least a 3000 watt lamp or two. Also make sure that you mask off any in frame threads or holes that use a collared bolt. You don't want to have to clean cured powder from threads or bolt holes. This is actually a pretty big job but should come out very nice. Good luck!!

PS. I think I would choose polyuerathane.

Comment

Well I'm Dale... I'll do