Newbie PC Setup Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie PC Setup Help

I am new to powder coating and don't even have a gun yet. I have been looking over the forum to find the best way to go about getting started. I plan on buying the basic gun kit, however I want to figure out the oven situation before I even do that. The reason powder coating caught my attention is because I need to coat a set of headers for my car. Because of this I am going to need to start out with a fairly large oven. What is the best way to build an oven of this size on a budget of around $300.00. I am willing to spend this much because hopefully this oven will pay for itself down the road (by this I mean business from friends). Anyway, I know I can salvage some heating elements from some ovens, but I would like some input on what to build it out of and other aspects such as venting and size. I will also need to build a blasting cabinet of good size as well. Any ideas or even suggestions for someone just starting would be much appreciated. This forum has already helped a lot. Thanks!

The cheap...and dirty way to get yourself into a bigger oven is actually pretty easy........find yourself and old chest freezer, strip it down..get rid of the plastics and insulation...the insulation thats in a freezer isnt the kind to use in an oven...I use reg house insulation...pull the door seal off and rehinge the door so it fits snug again...get a couple oven elements and the thermo from it , (somewhere here there is a schematic on wiring ovens) wire it up and turn it on.........I have a oven thatsmade from two freezers married to each other..nice and deep...I have another oven I made from a commercial store coke display........look around...it doesnt have to say westing house to be an oven...just as long as it gets to temp and holds it..........
    Pro-Tech Powder Coating
    93976 Ocean Way
    541-247-8168
    [email protected]
    Gold Beach,Oregon

Comment