Building oven question?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building oven question?

Hello all, My search is over! This board is excellent,very knowledgeable people on this board. I'm new to PC and have been reading alot about it for the past year. I'm going to build my own oven(fathers a sheet metal master) and was wanting to know about how many elements to use? The oven size will be 6' tall 5'wide 8'deep all inside diminsions. Any help would be great! Keep up the good advice!

Re: Buildng Oven question

If it were me... I would put 6 - 3100w elements (3 on eash side wall ) down low to the floor. 2 thremostats. Run 3 elements thru each thermostat. That way you can set one thremostat to cut out 3 elements at 350F & the other stat set to 400F to keep it at temp. A fan inside to move air is also a great help. I just finished a 8'x8' oven and it has 8 - 3100w elements. It comes to 400F in about 15 minutes.
    Good Luck
    Bob
    www.capecodpowdercoating.com

Comment

Thanks for your reply trsick. Do you think putting them in the floor would be ok? Or putting them on the side walls make better sense? I should use 6 elements ? How many amps would that pull?Let's see if I can remember. Amps x Volts =Watts,so watts divided by volts =amps. I think thats right? So 3100watts x6=18300w,so 18300 divided by 240v=76.25amps. Thats alot of amps to pull in a garage. Does that sound right to you?Any suggestions? Thanks for your help.

Comment

Put them on the side walls and have motorized fans that can carry a go cfm rating, this will help dead spots and provide a horizontal flow which is great for getting the powder to flow out like water.

Comment

Re: Building ovens

Hey Dee:
          All I can tell you is, I placed the elements on the side walls as that was my preference, as I wanted to be able to "walk" into the oven with out worrying about stepping on the elements.