671 Blower help. Pleeezzz

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 671 Blower help. Pleeezzz

It will not take long for you to figure out that I am new to this powder coat metal stuff.

I have a 671 Aluminum Blower for a Trailor queen I am building and am tired of pulling it apart to polish it. where the pits come from I will never know because they were not there when I polished it before. Do any of you know what Elderblock is using on there intake manifolds that makes them look like polished out aluminum to the point of almost chromed? I called them and they say it is a three step process of Base Coat, Aluminum Coat, and then Clear Coat. Can you kind folks tell me how and where to get that for my Blower? And is there a process to get the new pits out other then buffing?

I have more questions but I do not want to push my luck.

Thanks.

welcome to the forum bro i will try to help on this. as for the pits being new that is true and due to the fact that each time you polish you remove a small amount of outer layer of metal. that said the blower housing is cast, this is a common problem with cast material. if the look you want is truly chrome then either polish it as good as you can get it and clear coat it with high gloss clear or plate it. otherwise if you dont feel like polishing it again you can fill the pits with high temp lab metal and powder it near chrome or super chrome and clear. this will give you a nice looking piece but is not chrome like or even polished as far as luster and glow.
    here is an example of almost chrome powder
    http://www.caswellplating.com/bbs/al...php?pic_id=527
    and http://www.caswellplating.com/bbs/al...php?pic_id=481
    and here is near chrome examples.
    http://www.caswellplating.com/bbs/al...php?pic_id=480
    http://www.caswellplating.com/bbs/al...php?pic_id=480
    hope this helps out some bro and best of luck. keep us posted on the results.