Gun ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gun ?

Is the new caswell gun any good? How much powder do you have to have in the cup for it to get it out. It looks like you have to have a full cup to do it. Im just a beginner but will be doing it alot. Any other guns you recomend?

thanks

Re: Gun ?

Full cup, Heck NO. I put about 7 heaping spoonfulls into the cup, and have good results. To much powder and it wil Burp and Clump out of the gun, not a fine powder cloud.
    Dan Pesonen
    Bandit Powder Coat <<From Powder to Perfection>>
    Forest Grove, BC Canada

Personal motto:
    "If it ain't broke, modify somethin till it is"

Comment

depends on your budget. if you can afford it get a Gema.
      SouthWest Powderworx
      Tyler Nutter
      www.swpowder.com
      myspace/swpowder
      [email protected]
      sigpic

Comment

I have a gun now like the Caswell $100 unit. I like mine so far.
        I think I been using 1-2" of powder in the cup, not allot but not paying much attention to it, I just dump in a bit and go.
        I been doing 10"dia. flat plate steel parts so far, nothing fancy for me yet.

Comment

Once I figured out how to set the Caswell gun up (air, flow, amount of powder) I've been having good results with it. Not so much powder loss and now have a pretty decent powder cloud. Still have to shake it now and then, but works, pretty good. I've coated many different things with it. Don't care much for the cup on top, but, you win some and you lose some. Mine is the adjustable KV gun. I only put in a bout 6 scoops of powder in the cup, otherwise it pucks out powder when you least expect it. I'm looking to upgrade, soon I hope, but it's an okay gun. Read a thread somewhere on a comparison of a couple of the cheaper guns, but can't remember where it was. If I find it again, I'll post it.
          Who says you can't teach an ole dog new tricks?

Comment