Announcement

Collapse

CASWELD Our new 'Welding' rods

Introducing our latest range of Welding and brazing rods, for the repair of Pot Metal, Aluminum, Stainless and much more.

Please see our web page for details.

http://www.caswellplating.com/restor...ding-rods.html
See more
See less

System settings Kv & UA

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• System settings Kv & UA

Hi Guys,
    I'm getting to the end of my larger oven build 8ft wide, 7.5ft high and 4ft deep (pics soon), so in preparation I've done some more tests on shooting powder then curing in my small oven (I'm very new to this) which is leading me to ask for help? I have 2 powder systems, Colo 610 (old but I get very good powder output) and a Gema Optiflex b where both machines have the ability to change the Kv and UA.... Which is where I hit a blank wall.... I cant find any reference to, if you increase or decrease the Kv what you should do with the UA? Also again, how the UA correlates to the Kv for second coats as well as deep corners

Please could someone try to explain this as I'd like to know the physics of each are instead of 'just playing', otherwise I'm concerned I won't get the best from my systems?

Thanks in advance

As you have discovered there is no simple easily understood explanation as to current versus voltage. If you search you will find explanations of both and their relationship to each other. That's where it starts to get complicated. If you look at the general guidelines published you will notice some differences from manufacturers. Most will recommend a high voltage setting for first pass transfer efficiency. Limiting the current is where you start to observe differences as I've seen recommendations for this setting ranging from 10 to 50.