specs for a large oven

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• specs for a large oven

hello everyone, I am new to the PCing and i have decide to take the plunge and get into PCing on a hobby basis in the next couple of weeks. I have read most of the post here and i wanto say thanks for all the great info. I love forums like this, it gives newbies (like my self) and vets to share info, ideas, and most of important, lessons learned. I find them invaluable.

What I want to do is build an oven big enough to cure my current project, a '61 Fordson Super Major diesel farm tractor with a loader and backhoe attachments. At first I planned on painting the tractor and only PCing the smaller parts but after reading the posts on building an oven i have decided that I'll PC the whole thing.

I am finishing building the blast booth right now and already have a metal shell that I am going to make into a smaller oven, 3'x3'x3'. The larger oven needs to be 4'h x4'w x10'l in order to handle the larger pieces such as the frame, loader and hoe arms.

My idea so far is to build the oven outside under my deck (that we don't use) to help shelter it from the weather. Use metal studs to frame it, insulate with fiberglass batts, use sheet metal on the inside (I am pricing the metal now so i don't know what gauge yet), and place corragated metal roofing on the outside (have some left from building my shed). I have also thought about putting a overhead track/trolley system, that i found in the dump pile at the back of the property when we bought the house (its sometimes good to hang onto junk), in to help with loading and unloading the large parts.